Flint Crepe Company

It’s National Coffee Day and what a better time to embark on this adventure?  I have to be honest- I had no idea of the national holiday that belongs to the 29th of September until after I had already made my coffee plans.  Regardless, it was a great day to begin!

My first stop was the Flint Crepe Company.  I had never been to Flint before today but from what I saw, I would love to go back.  Shadowed under the behemoth that is the University of Michigan, huddles a quaint bike shop façade.  I only had to ask one stranger in order to find it!  The moment I opened the door, I knew I was in a good place.  I could only describe the internal aesthetic as Grandma’s house mixed with the coolest person you will ever meet.  It had a very industrial feel on one end with dark woods and metal as well as a chalkboard-type wall (see below).  Suspended from the rafters are random old school light fixtures that make you feel like you’re walking through an antique store.  As opposite as the two styles sound, they seem to work.

As far as the trade goes, I heard the best things to order were the Chai Latte and the Knickerbocker Crepe (pictured above).  Now, I grew up eating crepes, known as Skinny Pancakes to my family.  They were saturated in butter and left you with a life full of high cholesterol.  So I guess you can say that I have a pretty high standard for this fare.  But every time I order a crepe at a restaurant, they have the flavor and texture of cardboard.  I cannot say the same about these.  The Flint Crepe Company has mastered a spongey, flavorful crepe with creative fillings.  The Knickerbocker included graham cracker crumble, Michigan strawberry jam, and a homemade cheesecake sauce.  Are you speechless yet?  This crepe was a meal and I wanted so badly to shove my face with every last bit of it.  Alas, it was so filling but very much worth it.

Now to what you’ve been waiting for- the Chai Latte.  Ok, I know that it’s National Coffee Day and I ordered tea- sue me!  But if your mouth is graced by the presence of this wonderful drink, you will understand my disloyalty.  With a sprinkle of cinnamon, the thick layer of foam provides a sweet pillow, protecting your tastebuds for what’s to come.  The liquid below hits you in the back of the throat with a strong essence of cinnamon and cloves, projecting the flavors of Christmas-time.  I was scraping the bottom of the cup with my tongue in order to not leave a drop.

All-in-all, my first solo trip on this Michigan roast was a success.  When I was there, I couldn’t help thinking that I wanted to bring every body I’ve ever met to this cute and eclectic spot.  If this is how this journey starts, I’m extremely thrilled to see what else the mitten state has to offer.

Want to check out Flint Crepe Company for yourself?  Visit them to get your coffee fix!

555 Saginaw St. Flint, MI 48502 | (810) 336-3308 | www.flintcrepe.com

 

2 thoughts on “Flint Crepe Company

  1. What a great idea! So, proud of you for doing this. You have so many talents. I have always loved your writing. If memory serves me correctly didn’t you write an heart touching play that took place in a Coffee Shop?

    I feel I should apologize for every skinny pancake i ever made for you not one was ever ediable. I never came even close to making not even one as fantastic as your grandmas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

