Bloom Coffee Roasters

It’s Thursday, folks!  Today I decided to stay close to home- kind of a personal “tourist in your own town.”  I had heard rumors about this local roaster (and even that they started their business on a bike), but just thought it was a pipe dream.  Well I’m here to tell you that Bloom Coffee Roasters exists in real life and will continue to grace you in your dreams.  Another positive to add to the pro list is that it’s located in Old Town, which is arguably the best place in mid-Michigan.  Regardless, this quaint shop will take you to another place and time without making you feel like an outsider.

img_2832

Bloom is literally a hole-in-the-wall.  The outside face is simply a door and a window.  It would be easy to miss if it weren’t for the sign on the sidewalk, pointing in the right direction.  Walking in the door you automatically feel accepted.  The room is warm with raw woods, mason jar lights, and miniature succulents.  The coffee bar takes up the majority of the cozy space but still leaves enough for its children to come in and enjoy.  Now I don’t know if it was the barista’s choice or if they just have a set playlist, but the music choice was on par.  The haunting echo of Fleet Foxes resonated somewhere deep in my brain.  Even though it’s barely fall and the leaves have only just begun to change, I felt a strong urge to wear the fluffiest sweater, read an intellectual novel, and occasionally stare out the window, watching the fat chunks of snow fall and land into piles.  To be honest, though, Bloom is not seasonal: it can be enjoyed year-round.

 

I wasn’t sure what to order when I arrived.  I usually get the same things every place I go.  But since I’m leaping out of my comfort zone during this new era in my life, I thought I would ask what the barista recommended.  The conclusion we both came to was the Lavender Latte.  A while back, I took a trip to the state of Washington, which is very well known for lavender.  They put it in everything; ice cream, butter, bread, what have you.  The people of Washington love their lavender, but I wasn’t itching to join the band wagon. Needless to say I’ve had some bad luck mixing lavender with food, but I sucked up my pride and decided this time would be different.  This latte was so subtle, mellow, and sweet (but not too sweet).  I think I leaped a little too far out of my comfort zone because it wasn’t my favorite, especially because it didn’t provide much of that sought-after coffee flavor.  With that being said, for anyone who isn’t completely into the bitterness that coffee can exhibit, Bloom is a great stepping stone.  This one experience won’t prevent me from returning to Bloom.  I would love to go back and try more until I find something that hooks me.  I am a true believer in giving people a fighting chance and Bloom is no exception.

At the end of the day, there will be coffeeshops that I like better than others.  But how will you know until you’ve tried?  On to the next shop!

Want to check out Bloom Coffee Roasters for yourself?  Visit them to get your coffee fix!

1236 Turner St, Lansing, MI 48906 | (517) 489-4046 | www.bloomroasters.com

2 thoughts on “Bloom Coffee Roasters

  1. Love, love, love your writing style. I will truly try Bloom for sure. So close to work. I will surprise a friend and take them for a treat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

