The Ugly Mug Cafe & Roastery

What a drizzly fall day- perfect for cozying up with a hot cup of Joe.  This Thursday I decided to take a little adventure to the city of Ypsilanti.  One of my oldest friends talked The Ugly Mug up so much that I thought I would give it a try!  I met up with her today, amidst her studies, to catch up and experience what the “Ug” had to offer.

img_2855img_2859img_2858

The Ugly Mug is placed on a busy corner, very blatantly inviting hipsters, stragglers, and tired college students alike.  It’s eclectic vibe was decked out in Halloween decor (a favorite of mine) and random Goodwill finds bought for under five dollars.  Lamps of all shapes and sizes lined the walls, including an homage to Ypsi the Clown (terrifying, I know) and in contrast, stainless steel blanketed the countertops.  The Ugly Mug is quintessential to a college town, as with the existence of Eastern Michigan University within the same vicinity.  It seems as if a group of outcasts found an abandoned building, scraped together second-hand furniture, and made a business.  But oddly enough- The Ugly Mug is a beacon of light on a dreary day for any passerby.

I was given a few options by my pal as to what was good to order.  I settled on a Cafe Miel, a hybrid of coffee and chai.  This Cafe Miel leaned more towards a Chai Latte than a run-of-the-mill coffee drink with the pungent spice that lingered in the back of your throat.  I will say that the baristas put an exquisite amount of craft and creativity into my drink.  The layer of foam that delicately rested atop the spicy drink beneath held its own.  It only broke to release the surprise below and lasted the entire experience.  What a delight!  This was the first time that I enjoyed every sip of a drink just as much as the one before.  For anyone seeking a safe haven, something too good and pure for this world, you can find it in the brew at The Ugly Mug Cafe & Roastery.

Also just a PSA: I apologize for my lack of adequate photography in all of my posts.  I can promise they will not improve in the slightest.

Want to check out The Ugly Mug Cafe & Roastery for yourself?  Visit them to get your coffee fix!

317 W Cross St, Ypsilanti, MI 48197 | (734) 484-4684 | www.uglymugypsi.com

3 thoughts on “The Ugly Mug Cafe & Roastery

Leave a Reply

